Free Shipping On Chippers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Chippers Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Earthwise GS70015 chipper accessories Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$154.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$154.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$285.19
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$164.49
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Earthwise GS70015 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
3/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Store (7)
Price (6)
Light Weight (5)
Easy To Use (5)
Quiet (2)
Cons
Durability (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
Unreliable (2)
Really for the back yard... (1)
Not Good For Brush (1)
67% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Chipper Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
26 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1134 Helpful Votes
Chippers Direct Recommended

The Earthwise GS70015 electric chipper shredder will help you turn fallen leaves and small branches into easy to manage chips or mulch. Operation is simple, fast and fairly quiet.

The Earthwise GS70015 is powered by a 15 amp motor, so the unit requires no gas or oil and there are no smelly fumes. The electric motor drives a metal impeller. Relatively straight branches are pulled through smoothly. Irregular shapes or those with many branchings require a little manual assist. You'll be... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3712
Stacy S
Battle Creek, MI
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 3/20/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
This works great and was super easy to put together.
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Stacy Recommends This Earthwise Product
Stacy's Experience With Chippers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas P.
Nokomis, FL
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 11/14/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
Small opening makes shredding leaves impossible. palm branches (except stems) are shredded poorly. Long fibers from bamboo tend to clog the outlet and clearing it is clumsy. Changing cutting blade is a chore..
Pros: Easy To Store, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult To Use
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
This electric unit is meant for smaller, more malleable materials. Palm branches and bamboo are quite hard, and would be better served with a more powerful gasoline-powered chipper. Shredding of softer leaves and smaller twigs and branches is recommended.

If you have any further questions or concerns, feel free to give us a call. We'd be happy to explain further what materials are best served by this chipper shredder.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Eric L.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good For Small Stuff
For my purposes, this unit works well. It's good for small branches (1/2"-3/4" thick). It works well if the material is not green or too dense. You can save time by "prepping" some of the branches by making them straight as possible by trimming the smaller branches from the main stem.

Branches that are have a lot fibers in them have a tendency to jam the machine. The real small stuff (1/4" or less) doesn't chip but gets stripped into 2"-3" sticks. ... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Easy to move and store
Cons: Feeder small, Jams frequently
Eric Recommends This Earthwise Product
Eric's Experience With Chippers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering from Chippers Direct was easy and the shipping was prompt."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Tim A.
Hamilton, IN
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not What I Was Hoping For...
Easy to assemble. Neat compact design and functional. Wood chipper portion works. Insert limbs need to straight with out the nobs or old branch nubs. The feed path is very small.

I was hoping to get better Mulching. The opening is really small and you have to stuff the leaves with this tool. Takes so long to stuff the leaves you get discouraged when you turn back and look at the pile of leaves and then back at this small opening. You're going to be there awhile.
Tim's Experience With Chippers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order, price was right and very fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Stephen V.
Lancaster, PA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 5/25/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Stopped Working
We like this chipper...it performed pretty well for a small electric one, handling sticks and dry leaves ok. It is time consuming to shred the leaves, as there are only two small holes to jam the leaves into with the plunger. Also, it jams pretty easily if there is any dampness in the leaves and other material.

Most disappointing was that the chipper seems to have stopped working. None of the resets work. We only used it for about an hour. Will seek a warranty refund.
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Stephen,
Very sorry to hear about the issues you're having....For warranty information Earthwise can be reached directly @ 800-313-5111.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert C.
Overland Park, KS
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 6/1/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Lasted 2 Hours Jammed Once Cleared Jam & Would Not Start Again
I got what I paid for "cheap "&#128533;
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Durability
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
For parts and service, Earthwise can be reached directly @ 800-313-5111
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael S
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 3/26/17
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
A Good Machine - But Has Some Difficulties
I am writing this review as neither an endorsement nor a criticism. This is just an account of my experience with this chipper. I bought this machine on March 26th 2017, a week or two later, I was able to make first use of my new chipper. The chipper performed perfectly - actually better than expected - with all sorts of debris, small branches, twigs, leaves and acorns. Everything was so easy, from assembly to use I was very pleased with this purchase.

After I finished my first (and only)... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Price, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
Thank you very much for sending in this review. I do apologize for the issues that you experienced with the chipper but I am pleased to hear that the manufacturer was prompt in addressing and resolving the issue. If you have any other questions that we can assist with, please give us a call and we will do our best to help. Thank you as always for your purchase and I look forward to dealing with you again in the future.
more
Michael's Experience With Chippers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"ChippersDirect (and their sister sites) offer a great selection of equipment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Horace G.
Vacherie, LA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 2/13/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthwise Electric Chipper/shredder
The opening is too small for pine cones that I need to shred. It does shred the small ones however.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Difficult To Use
Horace Recommends This Earthwise Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Horace,
This electric unit is meant for smaller, more malleable materials. It can handle up to 1.75" diameter sticks, branches and other lawn debris. It seems like the pine cones you need to shred are too large unfortunately, however breaking the pine cones up before putting them in to the chipper shredder may help with the size issue.

If you have any further questions or concerns, feel free to give us a call. We'd be happy to explain further what materials are best served by this chipper shredder.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Linda K.
Rock Hall, MD
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 3/15/17
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Exceded My Expectations!
I am truly glad I bought this product. However, I was a bit disappointed at how often it got clogged. It does great with tree branches and the like. But, if some stuff gets in that isn't hard and stiff, it tends to clog. However, it is easy to unclog and I haven't lost a finger yet!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: very noisy, Really for the back yard gardener!
Linda Recommends This Earthwise Product
Linda's Experience With Chippers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was easy to buy and priced reasonably. My husband put it together and had no trouble. I found it easy to move from one place to another and easy to use."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Anna B.
Orange, VA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 2/9/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For Small Jobs
The usage is similar to a food processor. You cannot just jam thick branches in. You have to push and release until the branch gets smaller in diameter. Also, watch for the container not to over pack because you will burn the engine. Watch for branches ricocheting.
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, not quiet
Anna Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Michael R.
Sebastopol, CA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 10/29/15
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Way Worthy Of The Price.
I only have about four hours on it, but so far no problems at all. As with any piece of machinery there is a learning curve. Don't let the hopper get too full is lesson one.

Alternating dry material with less dry keeps everything flowing. It simply does an amazing job and produces a good uniform chip with few spicules if the material is adequately dry. Highly recommended.
Michael Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
161
Sandi T.
Ringgold, GA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 11/9/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Saved Money In The Long Run
For years we have bagged our leaves, loaded on a trailer and delivered to the landfill, each requiring time and $$. Our large yard is all mulch requiring a yearly dressing of mulch.

Before the year is over our chopper/muncher will have paid for itself. Easy assembly, ease in use. It does what it claims only wish chute was wider to feed more leaves and sticks.
Sandi Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Ian R.
St James City, FL
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Design Flaw
But for 1 design flaw this is a great product for the cost. Constantly jams due to a plastic dowel at the discharge opening that inhibits chipped material from exiting freely.
Was this review helpful?
131
Bill
Alexandria, LA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 1/11/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
My Wife Bought This
My wife wanted a shredder to makes some wood chips to grow mushrooms on. I didn't think an electric shredder would be powerful enough, so here is my analysis. You can only shred sticks up to about 1 inch in diameter. The straighter the stick, the better. If the stick has some branching these are somewhat difficult to push through the machine.

This usually requires some pruning of the sticks before putting them into the machine. If you cut down a tree you will only be able to use the outer... more
Bill Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
121
Barron
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 11/6/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Buyer Beware
I purchased the electric chipper shredder based on the website description even though the pictures available did not show me what the input chute looked like. When the unit arrived it was immediately clear that it was grossly undersized for the intended purpose.

At the bottom of the chute where it feeds into the blades were 2 each 2" dia. holes with a small slot between them. I guess if all you had were small tree limbs this might work but it is way too small to handle any volume of... more
Was this review helpful?
154
Terese G.
Glendale, CA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 2/13/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Earthwiseelectric Chipper
Cut down a bunch of eucalyptus tree branches. Called someone to haul them away and they wanted several hundred dollars to do so. Ordered this chipper and was able to make several boxes of mulch with the branches.

Saved several hundred dollars and have this chipper for the next time I need to cut stuff down. Took some time to chip the branches but well worth it! Added bonus - my city gives a $50 rebate for the purchase of a wood chipper! Woohoo! Saved $50 more!
Terese Recommends This Earthwise Product
Terese's Experience With Chippers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy. Just took a little time to be delivered. Guess I have gotten spoiled by my Amazon Next Day shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
David A.
Lawrence, KS
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 2/10/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wood Chips For My Wood Burning Stove
So far so good. Have filled up about four (4) 32 Gallon trash cans over the week to mix w/ old news papers soon to make home made fire logs!

Just be careful and DON'T GO TOO FAST while trying to chip up REALLY HARD wood !!! And be sure to wear gloves and hold on to stuff really well while shoving it through...
David Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Kenneth D.
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Buy
The rim on the feeder bucket is flimsy, and after one use, the tabs have already broken off. I recommend redesign.
Kenneth Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Palmer T.
El Cajon, CA
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 7/4/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Pretty Good
So, best for sticks and not leaves or bushy stuff. Tends to get jammed up with grass and brush weeds. Not the best all around mulcher, but does enough for me and i did not want a big gas chopper. If you need something that big, go rent one.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Not Good For Brush
Palmer Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Shawn K.
Paw Paw, MI
Purchased from Chippers Direct
Purchased 8/5/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Make Sure Its Dry.
Ran a lot of pine thru this. Works great on small jobs. I'll see how much I get thru it. I have a lot of small branches to shred.
Shawn Recommends This Earthwise Product
Was this review helpful?
44
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials